Emily Blunt Might Be The Black Widow in Iron Man II

I really enjoyed Iron Man. Maybe not the greatest film in the world, but the best superhero film in years. Yeah, I know, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight and all that and yada-yada. Spiderman 2, yes, a great, great superhero film. But Iron Man just got it all almost exactly right. If not the best, certainly one of the best superhero films in modern memory.

Robert Downey Jr. WAS Iron Man. Pitch Perfect Performance and Direction from Jon Favreau.

Robert Downey Jr. WAS Iron Man. Pitch Perfect Performance and Direction from Jon Favreau.

Now, Jon Favreau had to wrangle with Marvel about money, and apparently they might ditch Nick Fury in order to avoid having to pay Sam Jackson anything. And Marvel has kind of stabbed Ed Norton in the back over The Hulk, so he might not be back to play Bruce Banner in future Hulk installments, and I wouldn’t blame him. Marvel has an opportunity to make some great superhero movies, and I think they’re going to screw the pooch. But, that’s neither here nor there right now . . .

Because Marvel did come to their senses regarding Jon Favreau, and he’s busy working on Iron Man II right now. Which may include The Black Widow. I love me some Black Widow. I used to trace, or try-to-draw-freehand-while-looking-at-the-original, covers from the George Perez Marvel Fanfare series on the Black Widow all the time. 

George Perez's Excellent Black Widow Cover to a 1983 Marvel Fanfare.

George Perez's Excellent Black Widow Cover to a 1983 Marvel Fanfare. I copied this cover and put in different background a dozen times.

 Well, Black Widow, who debuted in an Iron Man story in Strange Tales, may make it into he next Iron Man movie. Cool. And may be played by Emily Blunt, best known as an executive assistant to Meryl Streep in The Devil Wears Prada.

Emily Blunt Could Pull of the Black Widow.

Emily Blunt Could Pull of the Black Widow.

 As with most comic book heroines, I’m not sure she has the boobs to pull it off. But they make padded superhero bras. And, otherwise, she’s got it going on.

Emily Blunt Is Pretty Hot. I Think She'd Make a Pretty Convincing Black Widow.

Emily Blunt Is Pretty Hot. I Think She'd Make a Pretty Convincing Black Widow.

 And the Black Widow was always one of my favorite female Marvel characters. So, yeah, combine the greatness of Robert Downey’s Tony Stark, Iron Man, and Jon Favreau and mix in a little Black Widow, I’m so there for Iron Man II. Seriously.

 

The Black Widow

The Black Widow

2 Responses to “Emily Blunt Might Be The Black Widow in Iron Man II”


  1. 1 music genre September 8, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers


  1. 1 Iron Man 2, Black Widow Origin Story, and Sweet Scarlett Johansson « Whassup, Peoples? Trackback on July 27, 2009 at 5:17 pm

Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

