Orbis Pro Vox is Latin for “Circle for Cry” . . . and I Am An Xcellent Spelller

Why? What does that mean? Why are you searching for it? Sometimes you Internetz are so confusing. Probably something on TV. I wouldn’t know what was on TV tonight, as I’ve been watching The Elmo Movie.

Elmo, Do Not Go Into the Circle for Crying! Do Not Do It!

Elmo, Do Not Go Into the Circle for Crying! Do Not Do It!

Mandy Patinkin had very big eyebrows in that movie.

Mandy Pantinkin Played Huxley in the Elmo Movie.

Mandar Pantinkinitz Played Aldous Huxley in the Elmo Movie.

Update: May have been “Orbis Pro Vox Vocis”, which could be “Ring for Right”. Which the writers of Pushing Daisies got from throwing phrases into an online Latin translator. Check comments for more.

On an “inside baseball” kind of housekeeping note, for people complaining about my grammar: you’re all stupid, you don’t know what you are talking about, and it is never going to change. This last part is especially important. Most of the time, I do it on purpose. When it is by accident, I usually just don’t care that much. I may fix it, but it isn’t going to change how I write stuff. Ever.

But your complaining is entertaining, and makes me smile with smug satisfaction at how much smarter and better I am than my critics in almost every way. So keep it up.

Besides which, my grammar and spelling are both excellent. As well as is the in depth research I do on every story I report on, which should be obvious to anybody who ever reads anything I’ve ever written. I slave over this blog. Like a slave.

Is it Bad Spelling? Or a Subtle Warning for the Future?

Is it Bad Spelling? Or a Subtle Warning for the Future?

I borrowed that bit above from CartoonStock.com, in case the gigantical watermark didn’t clue you in. 

Accusations that I’m easily distracted by pictures of hot chicks easily found on the Internetz are totally off-base. I’m serious.

Wha? Um. Oooh.

Sandra Likes Sports.

Sandra Taylor Likes Sports. Was I saying something important? Probably not.

Okay, yeah, big deal. So what. Never mind.

Laterz, Internetz.

 


22 Responses to “Orbis Pro Vox is Latin for “Circle for Cry” . . . and I Am An Xcellent Spelller”


  1. 1 Sgt. Fury November 27, 2008 at 4:18 am

    I think the correct translation of Orbis pro vox is “Ring for Right”.

  2. 2 Bob K November 27, 2008 at 4:23 am

    It’s from the current episode of Pushing Daisies. Which claims the phrase means “ring for right”, but that can’t be right. It’s more like “globe for voice”. And it’s not a real Latin phrase (if it were, it would be orbis pro voce.

  3. 3 memetrics November 27, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Orbis can certainly be ring, but vox is “voice” or “cry”, isn’t it? I got a ‘D’ in Latin so I might not be the sharpest tack in the tree on that one.

    Latin for right, according to an online Latin dictionary:

    “legitiums, iustus, vox vocis, rectus, dexter”

    So “orbis pro vox vocis” could indeed be ring for right, and maybe “orbis pro vox” is an incomplete search that most peoples are trying? Makes sense. Still curious what set off the huge search volume for it.

  4. 4 memetrics November 27, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Ah, didn’t see Bob K’s post ’til after I wrote the one that strangely comes after his post. Wait, that sounds confusing. Never mind, I’ve seen it now. Thanks, Bob K!

    Didn’t see the episode? Did they use the phrase “orbis pro vox vocis”? Either way, I think they made it up putting words together in an online Latin translator. Cuz Orbis Pro Vox comes up with very few full phrase hits on The Google, almost all of them recent.

  5. 5 Bob K November 27, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Oh and by the way, “ring” in the episode is supposed to be “ring” in the sense of a bell tone, and orbis is in no way an appropriate translation for this.

  6. 6 keaven November 28, 2008 at 2:42 am

    I second what Bob K wrote. You *could* use orbis as “ring” but it would be a physical ring… like, a ring of stones, or ring around the collar… it does *not* mean ring, as in the ringing of a bell.

    However… another translation of orbis, as an adjective rather than a noun, would be “bereft” or “deprived” (orbus, orba, orbum).. so it could be: “Voices on behalf of the Deprived.” Which makes a little more sense considering it was a charity organization.

  7. 7 Aelfgyfu November 28, 2008 at 3:36 am

    “Voice for the Orphaned” or Deprived, as Keaven has it, above, makes sense, which is more than I could do with this Latin! “Vox” is nominative so can’t follow the preposition in an English translation. (If “orbis” is a noun, that form would be genitive, so then nothing would go with the preposition, and we’d have a genitive/possessive: voice of the world for . . . .)

    I came here Googling “ring for right” because I just saw Pushing Daisies, and I couldn’t figure out how they could possibly get that English from that Latin. I suspect memetrix is right and they used an online translation; I think it offered not “vox vocis,” which would mean “voice of the voice,” but “vox, vocis” as the way a dictionary entry for Latin nouns normally looks (nominative, genitive–both forms offered so you know what declension it is).

  8. 8 matthew livingston December 2, 2008 at 6:24 am

    orbis pro vox means “circle for voice” which is your mouth. Slang for your mouth is, “pie hole” the pie maker in pushing daisys works at “the pie hole” don’t ask how I came up this…

  9. 9 Someone With A Sense of Humor December 3, 2008 at 12:44 am

    This might be one of the few topics to lure positive, non-flaming comments.

    Bravo, memetrics!

  10. 10 Kevin S. Willis December 3, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Apparently, Pushing Daisies attracts a higher class of human being to watch that show, Humorous. That’s why ABC is reportedly on the potential verge of cancelling it.

  11. 11 Someone With A Sense of Humor December 4, 2008 at 12:54 am

    You see, I could care less about that show.

    I’m angry that “My Own Worst Enemy” is being cancelled.

  12. 12 memetrics December 4, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    While I have not seen much of Pushing Daisies–what I did see looked engaging enough–and haven’t seen any of My Own Worst Enemy, I know I don’t understand making the investment in a series and then not trying to make it work or let it build an audience.

    Not to mention, the system for measuring TV ratings still sucks. And I think often has to be wrong.

    That is all.

  13. 13 Gainnaliare June 2, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Buy Cheap Zanaflex Online Now[url]

  14. 14 FLUFFY September 7, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Sorry … lost my train of thought.

  15. 15 Keith Cassinelli October 21, 2010 at 2:05 am

    FANTASTIC! This is such a greatpost and very well thought out. This is info I have been searching for. This will really help us to better manage our company. I also read many of your other posts and found many that were informative. I will recommend to my coworkers to bookmark your blog. Thanks VERY MUCH for your efforts. Our industry is very trying these days and any help we can get is greatly appreciated. If there is anything I can share with you, please feel free to contact me.

  16. 17 anitawd May 6, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I just got 7 PMs within 2 weeks with nothing more then saying hi I’m supplementary to the forum. Is anyone else getting these

  17. 18 http://www.picoprojecteur.org November 28, 2013 at 4:39 am

    Excellent post! We are linking to this greazt content on our site.
    Keep up the good writing.

  18. 19 antioxidant June 28, 2014 at 7:32 am

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the
    rest of the site is also very good.


  1. 1 Orbis Pro Fox is Latin for “Circle for Cry” | Blog posts trends Trackback on November 27, 2008 at 1:31 pm
  2. 2 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback on November 30, 2008 at 12:18 am
  3. 3 related webpage Trackback on July 27, 2014 at 3:12 am

Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

